You can select a folder that you want to sync with Synology Drive from here: If you need, you can create a new folder on your computer as well.
You can check or uncheck the Enable on-demand Sync to save disk space checkbox to enable or disable on-demand sync respectively from here as well 1.
If you have set up the shutdown service above, you can just leave to do other businesses.
The files will be downloaded to your computer only when you need it.
You can use Synology Drive in the same way as Google Drive or OneDrive.
You can restore them with the remote backup image with the help of the same backup application.
See pictures and learn about the home folder and libraries.
To enable version control for the files stored on this shared folder, check the Enable version control checkbox and specify the number of versions you want to keep in the Maximum Versions section as marked in the following screenshot: The Rotation Policy is used to determine which file versions are kept and which file versions are deleted.